5th October 2022

Seven new Canons admitted to Salisbury Cathedral’s College of Canons

Seven new Canons admitted to Salisbury Cathedral’s College of Canons

Seven new canons were admitted to Salisbury Cathedral’s College of Canons yesterday (4 October).

The Revd Nick Clarke (Area Dean of Weymouth and Portland), Gillian Clarke (Chair of Salisbury Diocese House of Laity), The Revd Rhona Floate (Team Rector Vale of Pewsey), The Revd Craig Ryalls (Rector of St Paul’s Church, Fisherton Anger), Loretta Minghella (Master of Clare College, Cambridge), Sue Chandler (Lay Chair of the Blackmore Vale Deanery) and The Venerable Stephen Dunwoody (Archdeacon for the Army and Assistant Chaplain General Army Recruitment and Initial Training Command and Land Warfare Centre) were installed during 17.30 Evensong.

The Dean of Salisbury, the Very Revd Nicholas Papadopulos said:

“We are delighted to welcome our new canons, each of whom brings with them their particular insights and experience. In these challenging times it is vital that we work together; the Queen we have known for most of our lives has died; the international situation is troubled; and at home the current cost-of-living crisis makes it all the more important that our communities unite and care for one another.”

The seven canons are the first to be installed since the new Bishop of Salisbury, The Right Revd Stephen Lake began his work in the Diocese.

Bishop Stephen said:

“I am delighted that the new canons have taken up the invitation to join the College of Canons. The College is part of the Cathedral’s extended family, drawing the Diocese and Cathedral together. That ‘togetherness’ is important, bringing certainty and confidence in uncertain times.”