Group photo showing the Salisbury Cathedral Chapter Members

The corporate body of Salisbury Cathedral is the Chapter, a body comprising four Executive members (the Dean and the three Residentiary Canons) and up to eight Non-Executive members (two-thirds of whom are lay people).

Chapter Members

Portrait of Nicholas Papadopulos, Dean of Salisbury

The Very Revd Nicholas Papadopulos, Dean of Salisbury

Nicholas Papadopulos was installed as the 81st Dean of Salisbury in September 2018, having previously served as Canon Treasurer of Canterbury Cathedral and Vicar of St Peter’s Eaton Square, London. Before his ordination in 1999 he worked as a barrister specializing in criminal law.


Portrait of Edward Probert, Canon Chancellor and Sub Dean

The Revd Canon Edward Probert, Chancellor and Sub Dean            

Edward oversees the work of the Cathedral in education and community engagement, including care for visitors, our historic library and archive collections, and our many volunteers. Previously he was a parish priest in Surrey and south London.


Portrait of Anna Macham, Canon Precentor

The Revd Canon Anna Macham, Precentor

Anna is responsible for the Cathedral’s Liturgy and Music.  Previously she was parish priest of St Philip’s Camberwell, an inner-city parish off the Old Kent Road in southeast London, and before that was Succentor at Southwark Cathedral and a Chaplain at King’s College London.  As Precentor, Anna enables the planning and delivery of worship and can be contacted to organise a special service of any kind.


Portrait of Kenneth Padley, Canon Treasurer

The Revd Canon Kenneth Padley, Treasurer

Kenneth oversees the fabric of the Cathedral, both the rolling programme of maintenance and specific projects around art and the environment. He served as a university chaplain in Bangor and then as a parish priest in St Albans before coming to Salisbury in 2022.


Portrait of Nigel Salisbury, Senior Non-Executive Member

Nigel Salisbury, Senior Non-Executive Member

Nigel is the Senior Non-Executive Member of Chapter, appointed by the Bishop, and chairs the Finance Committee. He has been a member of the Cathedral community and congregation since 1999 and chaired the Diocesan Board of Finance between 2015 and 2022.  He has had a 40-year career in insurance and still works part time, now primarily involved in running his company’s charitable trust.


Portrait of Tim Daykin, Non-Executive Trustee

The Revd Canon Tim Daykin, Non-Executive Trustee

Tim has been a parish priest and a broadcaster working for the BBC for some 20 years.  He takes a special interest in the Cathedral’s communications and visitor experience.  Tim is also a Trustee of the Sandford St Martin Trust that promotes and awards excellence in religious broadcasting.


Portrait of Sue Groom, Non-Executive Trustee

The Ven Sue Groom, Non-Executive Trustee

Sue was appointed Archdeacon of Wilts in the Diocese of Salisbury in 2016 and she joined the Cathedral Chapter in 2019. Prior to moving to Wiltshire, she served as a parish priest and worked in discerning vocations and theological education in London and Bedfordshire.


Portrait of Jonathan Leigh, Non-Executive Trustee

Jonathan Leigh, Non-Executive Trustee

After 42 years in secondary education including Headships in the UK and Canada, Jonathan became a Lay Canon on the College of Canons in 2019 and subsequently joined Chapter in spring 2021. He is Chairman of the Cathedral Property Strategy Group and also of the Sarum St Michael Educational Charity.


Portrait of Lucinda Herklots, Non-Executive Trustee

Lucinda Herklots, Non-Executive Trustee

Lucinda Herklots joined the Cathedral Chapter as a lay member in 2019 and currently chairs the Cathedral’s Nominations Committee and HR and Remunerations Committee. Prior to these appointments she was strategic marketing director for an international group of companies specialising in electronic card payments and then diocesan secretary for the Diocese of Salisbury from 2004-2018.


Portrait of Jackie Molnar, Chapter Clerk

Jackie Molnar, Chapter Clerk

Jackie is the Chapter Clerk (Chief Operating Officer), which is the Cathedral’s senior lay manager responsible for advising on and overseeing the Cathedral’s strategy and operational management.  She has held this role since 2015, prior to which she worked as a senior manager within higher education and local government.