Community Forum | Salisbury Cathedral

Search form

Community Forum

All regular worshipping members of our congregation, staff and volunteers are represented by the Cathedral Community...

You are here

Community Forum

All regular worshipping members of our congregation, staff and volunteers are represented by the Cathedral Community Forum (CCF). This is an elected body, which meets every three months and considers concerns and comments raised by its members. It also receives information and presentations from the Cathedral Chapter with the opportunity to add feedback - so it has a positive role in representing the peoples’ views to Chapter, and in providing a channel for disseminating information and news. Two members of the CCF are elected to sit on the Cathedral Council, and the Forum also has representatives on Deanery Synod and on Churches Together in Salisbury.


One of its most important functions is to consider the large number of requests received from local, national and international charities and then to make recommendations for the distribution of a proportion of the offertory and other collections which are available for charitable giving.


The Forum members (listed below) are happy to hear any views from the congregation on any aspect of the activities of the Cathedral. Anyone with any comments is invited to write to the chairman of the Forum or to speak to any Forum member - Forum members can be identified by badges and will be present in the Cathedral in particular following the Sunday morning Eucharist.


Composition of the Cathedral Community Forum (September 2020)

Ex Officio members:

The Dean, the Very Revd Nicholas Papadopulos

The Precentor, Canon Anna Macham

The Chancellor, Canon Edward Probert

The Treasurer, Canon Robert Titley

The Vicar of the Close, Revd Canon Nigel Davies


Elected lay members:

Dame Rosemary Spencer,   Chair

Colin Smith, Vice Chair 

Patrick Thomas, Treasurer

Liz Barnard, Secretary

Rosemary Allen

Sylvia Roseaman

Sonia Woolley


Co-opted members:             

Emily Oliver, Choir parent   

Julia Lever, Friends of Salisbury Cathedral                             

Paul Smith, Cathedral staff


Ex Officio lay members:     

Angela Ford, Head Steward

Chris Barnard, Head Guide


AGM Tuesday 20 October at 18.30 via zoom - registration required

The AGM of the Cathedral Community Forum will, this year, because of Covid,  take place by Zoom on Tuesday 20 October at 18.30.

Everyone is most welcome to  ‘attend’ this meeting and the agenda can be found below, but if you do wish to participate, it will be necessary for you to register your email address with Lucy Bennett by noon on 20 October at, or in order to receive the Zoom link.


In addition, the CCF Chair, Dame Rosemary Spencer, will need advance notice of any question you wish to raise under AOB. There may be an opportunity to raise questions arising from the Dean’s address immediately afterwards, but time for this will necessarily be limited. Matters to be raised under AOB may be sent to the secretary of the Forum, Liz Barnard by Monday 19 October.

You can download the minutes of the last meeting and the Offertory accounts below - they have been published online to economise on printing.


Assessment of the Cathedral’s Services and Other Activities in Lockdown, June 2020

In view of the Covid-19 lockdown, the meeting of the Cathedral Community Forum scheduled for 17 June 2020 was cancelled. Instead, an assessment of the Cathedral’s services and other activities under lockdown was produced in consultation with CCF members, reflecting to the limited degree possible the reactions of other members of the Cathedral congregation and community. The Chairman forwarded the assessment to the Dean, who replied that he was very grateful; the document was very useful and would be fed into discussions on this extraordinary period.
The text of the assessment is set out in the attachments below.