Diocese of Salisbury Cathedral

Search form

You are here

Our Diocese

The Archbishop of Canterbury is the head of the Church of England which consists of 42  dioceses, which is an administrative territorial unit governed by a bishop. The Church of England is part of the international Anglican Communion. 


The Bishop of Salisbury, the Right Reverend Nicholas Holtam, is assisted by the Bishop of Ramsbury,the Right Reverend Dr Edward Condry, who retires during 2018, and theBishop of Sherborne, the Right Reverend Karen Gorham. 


Salisbury is the seventh largest English diocese in territory, extending over 2000 square miles, with a population of about 932,000 across Dorset, Wiltshire, Poole, Bournemouth, Hampshire and Devon. 


It has 446 parishes that look after 574 places of worship - our Diocese has one of the highest number of listed church buildings in the country (87% are listed in Grade I or II*). 


Within the diocese there are 195 Church of England Schools, 40 of which are now academies. 41,000 children in the diocese attend church schools, with 6 of our schools having academy status. 16% of all Church of England primary and middle schools are in the Diocese of Salisbury. 

Please click here to visit the Salisbury Diocesan website