Search form

You are here

Closures

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event or day to day maintenance. We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people travel long distances to visit us. Please remember to check for last minute changes prior to your visit as some events, such as funerals, are only arranged at short notice.

The Chapter House and Magna Carta are now open once again, with a great new permenant exhibition to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the historic document.

 

Thursday 26th March - Funeral in the Trinity Chapel at 2.30pm

From 1.45pm - 3.45pm the Trinity Chapel and surrounding area will be closed to visitors.

 

Friday 27 March - Organ Tuning 

Visitors are welcome but there will be additional noise


Wednesday 1 April - Cathedral choir rehearsal

Visitors are welcome during the rehearsal


Thursday 2 April - Maundy Thursday

Eucharist of the Chrism and Re-affirmation of Vows

The Cathedral will open to visitors at 1.30pm. This is a day of quiet reflection so no guiding or commentary is permitted
 

Friday 3 April - Good Friday

The Cathedral floor will be closed to visitors all day. The Chapter House will be open as normal
 

Saturday 4 April - Easter Eve

Meditation in the Nave. Visitors are welcome but no guiding or commentary is permitted. The Cathedral floor will close at 4pm in preparation for an earlier service.
 

Sunday 5 April Easter Day

The Cathedral floor will be open 12:00 – 14:15. The Chapter House will close at 14:00


Friday 10 April

14:00 – 15:00 Sarum St Michael Old Students Service in the Nave

Visitors are welcome but the Nave will be restricted during the service. Photography is not permitted during services


Saturday 18 April - LPA DAY

The Cathedral will only be open to visitors between 11am and 1.30pm. The Chapter House will be open as normal.


Monday 20 April

11:00 – 11:30 Army Chaplains Wessex Service in the Trinity Chapel

The Trinity Chapel will be closed to visitors during the service


Wednesday 22 April

10:00 – 11:00 Cathedral Winter Lecture in the North Transept

The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the lecture


Thursday 23 & Friday 24 April - Organ Tuning

Visitors are welcome but there will be additional noise


Saturday 25 April - BWS Founder's Day Service

The Cathedral floor will open to visitors at 12 noon. The Chapter House is open as normal