Search form

You are here

Closures

Chorister Bishop Ceremony - 6th December 2015 - Photo by Ash Mills

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event or day to day maintenance. We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people travel long distances to visit us. Please remember to check for last minute changes prior to your visit as some events, such as funerals, are only arranged at short notice.

View our standard visiting times here.

Sunday 20 August. Baptism at the Font 12.30 - 13.00
The Font will be roped off to visitors during the Service

Monday 21August. Organ Tuning
The Cathedral will be open to visitors but there will be additional noise

Sunday 3 September. Baptism at the Font 12.30 - 13.00
The Font will be roped off to visitors during the Service

Friday 15 September. A service of thanksgiving in the Quire 14.30-15.30
Only teh far West End of the Cathedral floor will be open to visitors between 14.00-16.00. The Chapter House, Shop and Refectory will be open as normal

Saturday 16 September. Meeting in the North Transept 09.15 - 11.00
The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the meeting

Monday 18 September. Organ Tuning
The Cathedral will be open to visitors but there will be additional noise

Monday 18 September. Maintenance of Magna Carta
The Chapter House will close at 16.30

Tuesday 19 September. Talk in the North Transept 14.00-15.00
Visitors are welcome to sit and listen to the talk but the North Transept will be closed for general touring

Saturday 23 September. Meeting in the North Transept 14.00-16.00
The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the meeting

Sunday 24 September. Baptism at the Font 12.30-13.00
The Font will be roped off to visitors during the Service

Monday 25 September. A service of thanksgiving in the Quire 14.00-15.00
The East End of the Cathedral (from the Spire Crossing) will be closed to visitors from 13.30-15.30. The Chapter House, Shop and Refectory will be open as normal

Thursday 28 September. Event in the North Transept 13.00-14.00
The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the event

Saturday 30 September. Meeting in the North Transept 14.30-16.15
The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the event

Friday 3 November
The Cathedral floor will be closed to visitrs until 13.30. The Chapter House, Refectory and Shop are open as normal

Saturday 4 November
The Chapter House will close at 15.30

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attachments

Floor Map.png 263.02 KB (.png)