Search form

You are here

Closures

Fan ceiling in Salisbury Cathedral's Chapter House

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event or day to day maintenance. We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people travel long distances to visit us. As soon as we know about a closure it will be posted below. Please remember to check for last minute changes prior to your visit as some events, such as funerals, are only arranged at short notice.

 

Friday 28 November - Advent Procession            
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 3pm. The Chapter House will close at 3.30pm.

Saturday 29 November - Advent Procession       
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 3pm. The Chapter House will close at 3.30pm.

Sunday 30 November - Advent Procession          
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 2pm. The Chapter House will close at 3.00pm.

Saturday 6 December - SMS rehearsal
The west end of the Cathedral will be restricted access all day.

Monday 8 December - Pre-Prep Nativity Service at 2pm in the Trinity Chapel      
The Trinity Chapel will be closed to visitors between 1.30pm and 3.15pm.

Tuesday 9 December - Carol Concert for groups at 2pm
The Cathedral floor will be closed to visitors between 12.30pm – 3.15pm.

Thursday 11 December - Leaden Hall Carol Service at 9.30am & Godolphin Carol Service at 3.15pm
The Cathedral will not open to visitors until 10.45am and will close at 2.30pm.

Friday 12 December - Christmas tree erection   
The far west end of the Cathedral will be restricted.

Friday 12 December - Carol Concert for groups at 2pm
The Cathedral floor will be closed to visitors between 12.30pm – 3.15pm.

Sunday 14 December - Carol Concert for BBC Wiltshire  
The Cathedral will be closed to visitors all day.

Wednesday 17 December - Cathedral School Carol Service at 11am         
The Cathedral floor will be closed to visitors between 10.00am and 12.30pm.

Thursday 18 December - Leehurst Swan School Carol Service at 9.30am 
The Cathedral will open to visitors at 10.45am.

Sunday 21 December - Cathedral Carol Service at 5pm   
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 2pm.

Monday 22 December - Cathedral Carol Service at 7pm 
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 3pm.

Wednesday 24 December - A Family Service for Christmas Eve at 4pm   
The Cathedral will close to visitors at 2.30pm.

Thursday 25 December - Services            
The Cathedral will be open for visitors between 12 noon and 1.45pm. The shop & refectory will be closed all day.

Friday 26 December – Friday 2 January - Evening Prayer
The East end of the Cathedral will be closed to visitors at 3.30pm and the Cathedral will close at 4.30pm.

 

December 2014-February 2015 - Temporary Closure of Cathedral Chapter House 

Due to the installation of our new interactive exhibition, Magna Carta will not be on display for a brief period in 2014/2015. Expected dates when the original Magna Carta will not be on display are 27 December 2014 - 20 February 2015. A facsimile of Magna Carta will be on display at all times within the Cathedral.