Search form

You are here

Closures

Occasionally the Cathedral, or parts of it, may need to close or only offer restricted access for a service, special event or day to day maintenance. We try to minimise these periods as much as we can, as we know that people travel long distances to visit us. Please remember to check for last minute changes prior to your visit as some events, such as funerals, are only arranged at short notice.

The Chapter House and Magna Carta are now open once again, with a great new permenant exhibition to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the historic document.

 

Friday 3 July - Cathedral School Assembly

The Cathedral will open to visitors at 9.30am

 

Saturday 4 July - Eucharist for Visiting Pilgrimage Group in the Trinity Chapel 12 noon - 12.45

The Trinity Chapel will be closed to visitors during the service

 

Sunday 5 July – Baptism at 12.30

The font area will be roped off to visitors whilst the Baptism

 

Monday 6 July - Organ Tuning

Visitors are welcome but there will be additional noise

 

Monday 6 July - Magna Cantata rehearsal 2pm – 4.30pm

Visitors are welcome during the rehearsal

 

Wednesday 8 July - Magna Cantata rehearsal 2pm – 4.30pm

Visitors are welcome during the rehearsal

 

Thursday 9 July - Magna Cantata rehearsal 2pm – 4.30pm

Visitors are welcome during the rehearsal

 

Friday 10 July - Cathedral School Assembly

The Cathedral will open to visitors at 9.30am

 

Friday 10 July - Magna Cantata rehearsal 2pm – 4.30pm

Visitors are welcome during the rehearsal

 

Saturday 11 July - Salisbury Cathedral School Prizegiving

From 9am - 12.30pm, only the very far West End of the Cathedral will be open to visitors.  No guided tours or commentary permitted during this time

The Cathedral will be open as normal from 12.45

 

Monday 13 July - Bluthner Piano tuning

Visitors are welcome but there will be additional noise

 

Tuesday 14 July - La Folia Promenade Event with Exeter House and Woodford School 9.30am – 11.30am

Visitors are welcome during the performance.

 

Tuesday 14 July - School Dance Performance in the North Transept 12.45 – 3pm

The North Transept will be closed to visitors during the performance

 

Thursday 16 July – Southern Cathedrals Festival

The Cathedral Floor will only be open between 11.30am and 12.30. The Chapter House is open as normal.

 

Thursday 16 July - Southern Cathedrals Festival

The Cathedral will only be open between 11.30a – 12.30. The Chapter House will be open as normal

 

Friday 17 July - Southern Cathedrals Festival

The Cathedral will only be open between 11.30 and 2pm. The Chapter House will be open as normal.

 

Saturday 18 July - Southern Cathedrals Festival

The Cathedral will be open from 12.45


Sunday 19 July

The Cathedral will close at 2pm for an earlier Evensong service

 

Friday 24 July - Wedding In the Quire

Only the West End of the Cathedral will be open between 1pm and 2.45pm whilst a wedding takes place